Jack of All Trades, Master of None

Are you one of those people that get the random urge to go into your garage and build Thor’s hammer, “Mjolnir” when you’re bored? Are you one of those persnickety people who has to have all their shirts facing the same direction in your closet? Do you draw? Do you write poetry? Can you fix cars, fourwheelers, dirt bikes, snowmobiles, lawnmowers…etc? Do you cook? Do you invent things? Do you watch cartoons? Do you enjoy metal and classical music at the same time? If you answered “Yes” to a few of these, great, keep doing it. If you answered “Yes” to ALL of these, you might have to same disease as me. The curse we carry through life. We are “Jacks of all trades, masters of none.” I’d like to explore this with you, so take my hand, hold on tight, and let’s talk some shit.

 
Some people on this crazy blue world knew what they wanted to be when they “grew up” right from the start. I can recall kids from my youth knowing, or at least planning on their future many decades before it was of consequence to them. Me though? From birth to age sixteen, I’m pretty sure I wanted to either be a ninja, or a professional athlete of some sorts, (Hockey/Soccer.) When I realized it’s hard work, and socially unacceptable to become a ninja where I live, I had to kill that dream. I had to “Grow up.”

 
To be perfectly honest I’ve never really had a “Dream.” I’m much too crazy of a scatter brain to stick with one idea FOREVER. If you had to label it, I would call myself a third generation tinkerer. By tinkerer, I mean a person who is always doing something different, and is never fully satisfied with one narrow avenue. I can only drink a certain flavor of Kool-Aid for so long, before I pull a “Oh look, a squirrel” moment, and that previous endeavour is closed. I’m rather sure if my mother would have brought me to a doctor when I was younger, they would have diagnosed me with ADHD, or ADD for that matter. Even as I’m writing this, I wondering about….(Bills-my job-my daugher-my girlfriend-do we have enough money?-Is the living room too cold for the baby?-What am I going to cook for dinner? Who invented dinner? I like steak. Break-Cake-Rake-Take-Lake-Fake-Great-Fate…) I told you, I’m looney.

 
In recent years I looked into my affliction. I mean, I can’t be the only one? Let me be clear though, I’m far from neurotic, or high strung. I’m kind of a redneck/hippy hybrid. Not much bothers me, and I’m very “chill.” Some might say, “TAKE A XANAX OR SOMETHING!” No, no, no. I don’t mess with that shit. We’re much too quick to throw a pill at a perceived problem. Odin forbid we try to understand something before we throw chemicals at it. So I started digging and it didn’t take me long to find what I was looking for. I’m not sure if most people are familiar with the “Ted Talks” pieces, but I found one that I really identified with. Emilie Wapnick hosted a talk on a term she coined for people like me; or “Multipotentialites.” Here’s a blurb from her (Talk) “This continued after high school, and at a certain point, I began to notice this pattern in myself where I would become interested in an area and I would dive in, become all-consumed, and I’d get to be pretty good at whatever it was, and then I would hit this point where I’d start to get bored.” It immediately hit me, and I was like, “Wow.” She goes on to say, and implore Multi’s to keep chasing things down those rabbit holes. I loved hearing that I wasn’t the only adult who suffered with the same scatterbrain scenarios.

 
Today I live my “Multipotentialite” life with a better understanding of how my brain, and tendencies work. I allow myself to be fully consumed with a project, but I know I will tire of it, but that’s ok. When I mentioned earlier that I built Thor’s hammer “Mjolnir” I didn’t mean I mixed up some paper mache, or taped cardboard together. I (no bullshit) ordered high strength steel online. I fabricated, cut, welded, and painted a movie quality hammer. I even cut pieces of leather off an old leather vest for the shaft of the hammer. It came out beautiful. Tragically though, do you know where that hammer is? It’s sitting in my garage on my workbench collecting dust. It is very likely that I will never touch that hammer again, if only to move it out of the way for something else. For me though, it’s not some piece of junk. It’s a moment in time where I (for no particular reason) chose to challenge myself. I mean, come on, who wakes up with the idea of creating a weapon from a comic book, and spending countless hours “smithing” the damn thing into fruition, only to discard it to a workbench for all eternity?———–Me. If you read my previous material, you’d know that I’m genuinely trying to understand myself, and become the best version of me that I can be. I’m finding that through my little mad scientist projects, that I am able to balance my little life equation. Do I have it all figured out? Am I some enlightened “sage” acting son of a bitch? Ninja, please. I’m just trying to make sense of it all.

 
I implore everyone to take chances, and willfully put yourself outside of your comfort zone. If you’ve always aspired to play the violin, but are afraid that you won’t be good, or don’t know where to start, I call bullshit. Get your ass on Amazon, Ebay, or Craigslist. Buy a cheap violin, and learn the goddamn “Devil Went Down to Georgia.” The odds are high that it might sound like two drunk alley cats having sex in a tin can, but that’s ok! Sample what this world has to offer, because I assure you, if you don’t someone else will. Then you’ll be standing there without your cool violin, saying “Damn, that looks so fun. I wish I could, but I have to do adult stuff.” F-That noise. Be a weirdo, and explore.

Toodles.

4 thoughts on “Jack of All Trades, Master of None

  1. Pingback: Jack of All Trades, Master of None – WicNoodley

  2. Okay I was about done reading blog posts for the day when I stumbled upon your blog on the daily posts/ first Friday posts thibgy that WordPress hosts. This post here is amazing!!!. I am going to call my husband and family so they know I am quite sane!!! 😂😂😂😂. So relieved to not feel like the crazy inventor uncle in western movies or Belle’s dad from beauty and the beast!!! Lol will definitely watch that ted talk. And will chase my all trade like down its various rabbit holes. Thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

